Spiced Fruit Chutney

While the canning equipment was still out from yesterday, I made some spiced fruit chutney.  It is a great accompaniment to cold meat, either on a plate or in a sandwich.  It pairs well with a nice piece of cheddar.  Psychologically, it is very good for one.  The ingredients are full of minerals, dietary fibre, and vitamins.  Physically, I don’t know.  A nutritionist would probably say that cooking has destroyed most of the benefits and that the remaining ones block each other’s absorption.  However, as mental health is very important, here is the recipe.

Ingredients:

2 lbs Apples, peeled, cored, and chopped

2lbs Tomatoes, skinned, deseeded, and chopped

1lb Onions, chopped

8oz Dried Apricots, chopped

8oz Dates, chopped

8oz Prunes, chopped

8oz Sultanas, chopped

2 cubic inches Root ginger, very finely chopped

2 small Hot peppers, very finely chopped

1 Clove of garlic, crushed

2 lbs Brown sugar

20 fl oz Apple cider vinegar

1tbsp Garam Masala

2 tsp Ground coriander

1tsp Ground cardamom

½ tsp Allspice

1 tsp Salt

Method:

Put all the ingredients in a big pan, bring to a boil over medium heat, reduce heat, and simmer for about two hours.  The fruit should be tender and the goop thick.  If you reach that point before the two hour mark, stop.  There are parts of the process which cannot be tampered with; this isn’t one of them.

Can in 500 ml jars (I got six this time) according to the instructions which your source of canning equipment supplies.  Boil the filled sealed jars for 20 minutes.

Mine all popped.  Now, I have to wait: this stuff has a 12 week in jar gestation period.  Fruit flavours meld.  Edges are rounded.  Pungency and sweetness balance.  And, it comes out tasting like chutney.

About Tweed and Briar

I am the pastor of a rather conservative rural congregation. My interests alongside of work are hunting, fly fishing, cooking, and life in an agricultural community. By way of family, I have a wife and two children: a daughter and a son. I am of indeterminate age because my wife is a bit younger than I am and my son is ages with some of my friends’ grandchildren. However, to say that I slip smoothly among the generations would imply an agility which I no longer possess. I aspire to the genteel poverty of the country manse.
This entry was posted in Farming, Food, Gardening, Health and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spiced Fruit Chutney

  1. I am looking forward to trying out the chutney. Thanks for all the work you did on the canning!

Leave a Reply

