The Bloody Deed Is Done

We made salsa yesterday with tomatoes and onions from our garden.  You will notice that I said ‘with tomatoes and onions from our garden’.  Strictly speaking, I should have to say that it was made from tomatoes and onions purchased at the farmers’ market.  Nevertheless, a select few of our tomatoes and onions made their small contribution.

We did not play with the recipe sufficiently enough to make it ours; so, I haven’t included it.  But, I cannot not mention the tomatoes.

The recipe asked for 36 medium tomatoes.  We doubled the recipe.  But, when one buys from a farmers’ market, what is a medium tomato?  We had two varieties and, within the bucketsful, a range of sizes.  This site answered our question; so we went with a cup measure equivalent.  The Boy brought me the tomatoes.  I did the boiling water/ice water routine, skinned them, and cut out and green or bad bits. Wife and Daughter chopped, seeded, and measured until the desired volume was reached.  Thinking of the state of the kitchen when stillness descended upon it, the words ‘great slaughter done’ come to mind.

We chopped up the other choppable ingredients, added the non-choppable, and did the ‘hubble, bubble, toil, and trouble’ scene for an hour or so.

The canning process went without incident, except for one jar which waited long enough to pop.  I think that it is ok.  However, we’ll probably put it in the fridge and use it first.  Websites dealing with canning tomatoes leave one more angst-ridden than those laying bare the machinations of the Illuminati.

If you like your revolutions bloody, we have 8.5 litres of salsa.  If you prefer a more gentlemanly regime change, we have 18 US pints.  For the stiff-upper-lipped, we have 15 Imperial pints of quesadilla accompanying goodness.

About Tweed and Briar

I am the pastor of a rather conservative rural congregation. My interests alongside of work are hunting, fly fishing, cooking, and life in an agricultural community. By way of family, I have a wife and two children: a daughter and a son. I am of indeterminate age because my wife is a bit younger than I am and my son is ages with some of my friends’ grandchildren. However, to say that I slip smoothly among the generations would imply an agility which I no longer possess. I aspire to the genteel poverty of the country manse.
This entry was posted in Farming, Food, Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Bloody Deed Is Done

  1. Such a violent way to make salsa! But I do like your word pictures.

  2. Pingback: Spiced Fruit Chutney | Tweed and Briar

  3. Pingback: School, Fall Fair, and Salsa | Manse Memories

Leave a Reply

