Multi-generational Headwear

DSCF3305

The Boy was out in the snow yesterday wearing his Barbour jacket and an old cap of my Father’s.  My Mother bought the cap at a Daks factory sale before the Boy was born.  In fact, the cap had been relegated to dog walking only use for quite a while before my Father passed away.  I rescued it when I was sorting through his things and kept it.  It hangs in the mud room; and I use it occasionally when out in the garden (i.e. not in public).  Well, the boy has appropriated it to use as his headwear for chores.  I don’t know how much he actually remembers of his Grampa; but I am rather pleased that he wants to wear his cap.

About Tweed and Briar

I am the pastor of a rather conservative rural congregation. My interests alongside of work are hunting, fly fishing, cooking, and life in an agricultural community. By way of family, I have a wife and two children: a daughter and a son. I am of indeterminate age because my wife is a bit younger than I am and my son is ages with some of my friends’ grandchildren. However, to say that I slip smoothly among the generations would imply an agility which I no longer possess. I aspire to the genteel poverty of the country manse.
This entry was posted in Barbour, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Multi-generational Headwear

  1. I happened to find your blog while searching for information and discussions on Barbour jackets. I’ll definitely be back, since I find reading your columns highly rewarding.
    Best regards,
    Hans Lekemark, Karlstad, Sweden.

  2. Hans,
    Thank you for visiting and for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

