Lamb and Vegetable Soup

For a joint Mother and Son birthday dinner last January, we splurged on an a leg of lamb. We had sliced roast lamb on the day.  We had ground leftovers in a shepherd’s pie later. And today, we had soup from the bones.

The stock was made from the bones, a carrot, some leek mid-greens (too coarse to eat, too good to compost), a couple of stalks of celery, a few broken bay leaves, a teaspoon of black pepper corns, a teaspoon of coriander seeds, some salt and 16 cups of water.  These were brought to the boil and simmered for about 3 hours.

20160302_173306

The soup was made out of an onion, the white of a leek, a carrot, a parsnip, and a potato which were all finely diced, then sauteed in a little butter.  Four cups of the strained stock and a cup of meat off the bones were added, together with some lamb herb mix .  The lot was brought to the boil, reduced to a simmer, and left until the veges were soft, but not disintegrating.  At which point, the soup was consumed.

I admit that the photograph isn’t the most appealing, but we had over a foot of snow last night and lamb and vegetable soup, out of a winter defying Le Creuset, was just what we needed.

About Tweed and Briar

I am the pastor of a rather conservative rural congregation. My interests alongside of work are hunting, fly fishing, cooking, and life in an agricultural community. By way of family, I have a wife and two children: a daughter and a son. I am of indeterminate age because my wife is a bit younger than I am and my son is ages with some of my friends’ grandchildren. However, to say that I slip smoothly among the generations would imply an agility which I no longer possess. I aspire to the genteel poverty of the country manse.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lamb and Vegetable Soup

  1. It was very much enjoyed on this cold winter night! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

