Fall Fair 2016

The Agricultural Society’s Fall Fair has come and gone.  This year, we put entries in some sections which we had not considered previously: pies.

Out of eight entries, Wife got five firsts and three thirds. One third prize was for a pumpkin pie.  Her firsts were for breads and a cross stitch.  The other two thirds were for chocolate chip muffins and one of her loaves.

Out of six entries, Daughter got two firsts and two seconds. The two seconds were for blueberry pies.  The firsts were for a necklace of hand crafted beads and squares.

Out of two entries, I got a first and a third. I stuck to shortbread.

The boy has not yet found his Fall Fair groove.

The Ministerial Association had a table at the Fair again this year.  It may say something about the attendees that of all the handouts and free literature which was available, it was the large print New Testaments which were taken.

About Tweed and Briar

I am the pastor of a rather conservative rural congregation. My interests alongside of work are hunting, fly fishing, cooking, and life in an agricultural community. By way of family, I have a wife and two children: a daughter and a son. I am of indeterminate age because my wife is a bit younger than I am and my son is ages with some of my friends’ grandchildren. However, to say that I slip smoothly among the generations would imply an agility which I no longer possess. I aspire to the genteel poverty of the country manse.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Farming, Food, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fall Fair 2016

  1. Pingback: The Simple Woman’s Daybook | Manse Memories

Leave a Reply

